The New Paper

September 22, 2020

WHO announces 64 new COVAX members

The World Health Organization announced that 64 “developed nations” have agreed to join its coronavirus vaccine allocation program (called “COVAX”), including the European Commission (which represents the 27 EU member states). Over 150 countries (representing nearly two-thirds of the global population) have now agreed to join the program.

More context: COVAX was established to help member nations “insure themselves” against the failure of any individual vaccine candidate by pooling resources among participants. The program will use a newly-released allocation framework to ensure “fair and equitable access” to a vaccine once approved. 

This story is from the September 22, 2020 edition of The New Paper – a clear, concise daily briefing that makes fact-first news easy to consume. Try it today.